Live Event
Event Type: 
Live Online Webinar
Date & Time: 
Sunday September 10, 2017 3:00 pm - 8:00 pm PDT
Event Timezone: 
Pacific Standard Time PST/PDT (Vancouver BC, Los Angeles CA)
Event Details: 

There will be no lunch break so please bring snacks with you
 
Early bird rate $75 until September 3rd
Regular rate $125
 
Live webinars fulfill all 50 hours of live CEUs for California. You have 2 years access to the recording to complete for CEU/PDA, so you can take advantage of our early bird savings now and watch the recording after the live stream date.
 
Start time for different time zones
California - 3:00pm
Colorado - 4:00pm
Texas - 5:00pm
New York - 6:00pm
Hawaii - 12:00pm
UK - 11:00pm
Israel - 1:00am
Australia (Sydney) - 8:00am Sept 11
New Zealand (Auckland) - 10:00am Sept 11

The relevance of acupuncture research evidence for acupuncture practitioners has a number of aspects. 
Firstly, when evidence is strong enough, it leads to the inclusion of acupuncture as a treatment option in clinical practice guidelines developed by governments and peak medical advisory bodies. This in turn translates into referral streams to acupuncturists from medical practitioners, and increased credibility within mainstream medicine. It also encourages government health funding systems and providers of health insurance to include acupuncture in their available services. Secondly, familiarity with the strength of evidence for different conditions assists practitioners to promote their practices through advertising and to inform their patients in a way that is accurate and evidence-based. Thirdly, it is important that practitioners have greater awareness of the increasing quantity and quality of acupuncture research so that they can feel confident to advocate for their profession.
 This course will examine a recent review of systematic reviews of acupuncture research, The Acupuncture Evidence Project. Background information about how evidence levels and evidence quality are assessed in acupuncture research will be included. The methodology, process and outcomes of the Acupuncture Evidence Project, of which the presenter was co-author, will be presented.

Objectives

  •  To understand the relevance of acupuncture research evidence for acupuncture practitioners
  • To develop an understanding of how acupuncture research is assessed for evidence quality using CONSORT, STRICTA and GRADE systems
  • To develop an understanding of the current state of acupuncture research, and its strengths and weaknesses
  • To examine the Acupuncture Evidence Project including the review methodology, process and outcomes.
  • To be able to relate the evidence quality levels from the Acupuncture Evidence Project to planning advertising for clinical practices.

Outline

  • Introduction to the Acupuncture Evidence Project, evidence levels, quality of evidence, CONSORT and STRICTA reporting systems, risk of bias assessment and evidence quality assessment using the GRADE system
  • The Acupuncture Evidence Project: background, methodology, process, outcomes and the significance of the evidence level outcomes
  • Applying evidence levels from the Acupuncture Evidence Project to advertising; Australian and New Zealand advertising guidelines and how to ensure that therapeutic claims in advertising are evidence-based
  • Different sources of evidence: Systematic reviews, meta-analyses and network meta-analyses and how these inform clinical practice guidelines; Clinical practice guidelines as evidence; Available resources on acupuncture research and how to use these to communicate effectively with patients, other health professionals and health policy-makers; International collaborations to create resources on acupuncture research for practitioners
  • Questions and discussion
This Course Includes:
Acupuncture
Pending Approval:
California
California: 
Category 1
Florida
General CEUs: 
5.00
NCCAOM Details
Core Knowledge, Skill, Ability: 
5.00
Texas Details
General Acupuncture: 
5.00

John MacDonald

Presenter: 

John MacDonald Ph.D.

Image of John MacDonald